36 states were needed to ratify the 19th Amendment,

22 states ratified in 1919

National Woman’s Party activists watch Alice Paul sew a star onto the NWP Ratification Flag

National Photo Co. 1929-1920

Kentucky ratified on January 6

Rhode Island ratified on January 6

Oregon on January 13th

Indiana on January 16

Wyoming on January 27

February 1920 brought six more!

Nevada ratified on February 7

New Jersey on February 9

Idaho on February 11

Arizona on February 12

New Mexico on February 21

Oklahoma on February 28

By March,  only three more were needed!

5 states ratified in January 1920